Illustration Workshop

This was done with charcoal and Indian ink onto cartridge paper. We had an illustration workshop/taster session the other day in which the “painful spoon” was one of my projects. We were given an object and a word, as you can probably guess mine were a spoon and the word “pain”. I played around with a few ideas and this was one of the them πŸ™‚

I didn’t use any colour as I found that I wanted to focus mostly on texture and mark-making for this piece. The charcoal effect gives it tone and depth as it isn’t as sharp and defined as the ink lines. It was quite difficult trying to show the smooth shape of the spoon but at the same time getting across the word “Pain”, by smudging in some of the charcoal its almost possible to see the original spoon underneath the spiky exterior. I hope you like it πŸ™‚

One comment on “Illustration Workshop

  1. Danny says:

    makes you want to take it and brush all those bits off

Leave a comment