Sara Fanelli

A book spread from “Pinocchio” 2003

Whilst researching some illustrators and graphic designers for my visual communications project I came across Sara Fanelli. She is quite a well known illustrator and I have fallen in love with her work!

The piece above is a book spread from “Pinocchio” which she was commissioned to do in 2003. The longer you look at this piece the more detail you see. The background shows a 19th century pastoral scene that looks as if it is from some sort of engraving. Its a good example of how Fanelli uses a lot of collage in her work. I think it is very effective as it adds more tone and depth, whereas her characters are quite flat in contrast to the background. I love the way the characters are portrayed- the fox seems almost sly in the way he is positioned and the shape of his face, he seems to be leading the cat along.

Compared to other work by Fanelli, the colours are quite muted. Often she uses a lot of bright colours to show the mood and atmosphere of what she is illustrating. I hope you like her work as much as I do, definitely worth a look in!

x

One comment on “Sara Fanelli

  1. Danny says:

    The cat is very similar to the cats painted by Rosina Wachtmeister – have a look.

Leave a comment