3D Design

 

This was a really interesting project that we were given last week. The brief was to “Design and prototype an object that utilises the space within a suitcase and performs a function inside or outside the case”. I thought this was really up my street as I had done 3D Design at A Level! Unfortunately I was ill for half the week so there wasn’t as much opportunity for design development, though I definitely worked as hard as I could on Thursday and Friday to get my idea completed!

Essentially it is a suitcase that folds out into a table, but there is still storage space in the centre.

In this photo you can see the legs folded down into the suitcase. The strap holds them in place when the case is being carried.

Here you can see the legs unfolded with the table top taken out of the case. The top actually folds out again to twice that size and it fits over the top of the case. The storage inside can be accessed quite easily just by folding the table top in half šŸ™‚

The most difficult thing about this project was the amount of calculation that went into making each piece. Every bit had to be accurate or it wouldn’t have fitted together and it definitely would not have held together when being carried!

Another slight problem is now I don’t have a clue where to keep it!

x

Leave a comment